Sewing blog take two

I started a sewing/craft blog when my kids were little but it took way too much of my time and took me away from my kids. I was putting too much pressure on myself to post something every week. This time I have a theme and a plan and I’m going to shoot for quality instead of quantity.

About me: I have two girls and we’re an Air Force family currently living in Maui (rough, I know). We’ll move again in June 2015. I homeschool my girls because I love to have them around me and love to watch them learning. It also gives us some stability in our crazy life.

I love The Lord Jesus Christ and try to keep my relationship with Him first but I promise I will not try and convert you on this blog. That’s kind of a pet peeve of mine. And I will NOT try and sell you anything.

The plan: I’ve been sewing for 6 years. My first project was a Pocahontas costume for my daughter who was 4 at the time. It was easy, I was SO proud and I was hooked! I’ve been addicted to sewing very since. I don’t have a math mind so I have trouble sometimes but I’m always eager to learn.

I’ve taught some women and children how to sew and one thing I’ve noticed is that many people are scared to death of patterns. I want to use this blog to demystify them. A pattern can be a powerful tool if written well. Some are written well and others aren’t.

This blog is going to be a little like the “Julie and Julia” blog in that I’m going to sew through McCall’s and Simplicity patterns. If there’s a pattern you’d particularly like me to try, let me know and, if I’m able I’ll give it a try!

Happy Sewing!
Leigh Ann

Leave a Reply

